Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a DM, Post, or a Story in 2022?

Does Instagram notify the ser when you screenshot a DM?

The quick answer is, No! But wait… there’s an exception. Read next to know that!

As online privacy is getting stronger like a diamond, believe it or not, the screenshot notification is the next privacy thing that is materializing on all social platforms. 

Most social application has adopted the feature of notifying the sender about any sort of screenshot activity performed on their profile by another user. 

As a quick example, you can take Snapchat for it. 

But now, let’s take a closer look at the screenshot and notification thing on Instagram in July 2022. 

Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a Post?

There’s no intricacy to refusing your desire not to take a screenshot of a post that you like on Instagram and wanted to keep or share with friends or someone. 

But you may get a question in your mind, like, “Umm, I’m taking a screenshot of his post, will he get a notification?”

So here’s the answer, 

If you take a screenshot of any post on Instagram, the user will not get any notification about it. 

The same sense applies to you too.

If someone takes a screenshot of your posts, you will also not get any notification. 

So the first doubt on “Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a Post?” has been cleared and the quick answer is, No!

Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a Story?

Just like Instagram posts, you may also find something useful in the stories of the people you follow on Instagram. 

And you might need to keep it for a later.

That can be done by taking a screenshot.

But what if they get a notification when you screenshot their story?

That might be embarrassing in some cases, right?

Well, to let you know that, Instagram doesn’t notify the account holder when you screenshot a story. 

Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a Reel?

Well, reels, the short video on Instagram is also a type of post. 

As I talked about post, the same goes for reels too.

So, the answer is, “No!”

Instagram doesn’t notify the account holder when you screenshot a reel.

Similarly, when someone screenshots your reels, you don’t get any such notifications.

Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot an IGTV?

IGTV, aka long video on Instagram is another type of post.

You might find a portion while watching an IGTV that you want to share with your friends or simply keep it for later.

Now, the question is, “Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot an IGTV?”

No! Instagram doesn’t notify the user when you screenshot an IGTV.

Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a DM?

DM, aka “Direct Message” is the message that you receive from your friends or from someone on Instagram. 

To answer this query, first, let me tell you about the types of DM we get to see on Instagram.

It is important for you to know the types as screenshot notifications aren’t same for all type of DMs.

As of now (July 2022), there are 3 types of DM,

  • Textual DM (normal texts, or links)
  • Media DM sent by using the Instagram Gallery (photos from the gallery)
  • Media DM sent by using the Instagram camera (live or saved photos or videos)

Now, let’s get ahead to answer your query, “Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a DM?”

Textual DM

Textual DMs are the normal texts and emojis. 

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

Well, if you screenshot a textual DM, Instagram does not notify the sender that you screenshotted it. 

Media DM Sent by Using the Instagram Gallery

There’s a gallery icon in the message typing box next to the microphone. 

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

On clicking that, the gallery of your phone will be shown and you can send any photos from the gallery.

Now, let’s say someone sends you a photo this way, how would you be able to recognize that?

A photo sent by using the Instagram gallery option will look like that, 

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM
  • It will appear in a wide size,
  • It will have a share button 
  • And when you will open it, you will not see any progress bar progressing on the top. 

Now here comes, “Does Instagram Notify the User When You Screenshot a Media DM Sent by Using the Instagram Gallery?”

The answer is No! Instagram doesn’t notify the user when you screenshot such DM.

Media DM sent by using the Instagram camera

There’s a camera icon on the left side of your message typing box.

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

There you can send a photo or video (saved one or just a live shot) by marking them in three different ways, 

  • Keep in chat
  • Allow replay
  • View once

Keep in chat

When someone sends you a DM tagging it “Keep in chat”, it looks like that, 

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM
  • Tiny,
  • No share option,
  • And progress bar on top when opening the dm for full view

Now here comes,

Does Instagram notify the user when you screenshot a media DM sent by using the Instagram camera and labeled it as “Keep in chat”?

The answer is “Yes”!

Instagram does notify the user when you screenshot a media DM sent by using the Instagram camera that is labeled as “Keep in chat. 

If you take a screenshot the sender will receive a notification from Instagram like that.

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

And there will be a tiny circular aperture-looking icon next to the content that signifies that the person who received the DM has screenshotted it.

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

Allow replay

When a media is sent by using the Instagram Camera option and labeled as “Allow replay” will look like that, 

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

You can watch this DM two times only.

Now talking about screenshot notifications, 

Instagram does notify the user when you screenshot a media DM sent by using the Instagram camera that is labeled as “Allow replay”.

The sender will receive the same notification and there will be a circular aperture-looking icon next to the DM.

Does Instagram Notify the user When You Screenshot a DM

View once 

Media sent by the Instagram camera that is labeled with “View once” will appear similar to the previous one, except for you can only see it once. 

And Instagram does notify the user when you screenshot a media DM sent by using the Instagram camera that is labeled as “Allow replay”.

The screenshot notification and mark (circular aperture-looking icon) received by the sender will be similar to the previous type of DM.

Wrapping it up:

So here the conclusion is, you can screenshot posts, reels, or IGTV and the account holder will not get any notification, 

But in DM, they will get notified only to that DM that is being sent by using the Instagram camera option. 

And we have also discussed how you differentiate such DMs.

I hope your query on “Does Instagram Notify the user when you screenshot a DM?” has been totally clarified with proper demonstration.

But one thing I wanted to include here, – just don’t share the screenshots with someone else without having permission from the user to do that. 

If you want to share a post with your friends, you simply share the link to it. (Your friends can watch it if the account is a public account)

And if you want to share a photo or video sent by someone to you, ask them if this is okay for them to share the photo or video they just sent. 

Taking care of others’ digital privacy is a generous gesture in today’s digital world. I know you know how to be good at that. 😊

If you need to ask anything beyond that, do that by posting a comment. 

And keep visiting our blog for informative tech content. 

Read related:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.